Hush Hush Baby

 Potatoes are so versatile! Alone, baked, chips, in indian dishes, summer salads and the list can go on. But I do have a soft spot for some good hash browns.

 Now, the question is, how can I enjoy hash browns without eggs and oil?

 My way of making hash browns is healthy, cruelty free and yes it does taste GOOD!

 Ingredients:

  • 2 red potatoes
  • 3 fresh mushrooms
  • 1 sweet bell pepper
  • flax seeds
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • black pepper
  • oregano
  • thyme
  • sweet paprika
  • cayenne pepper
  • hemp powder
  • salt
  • No Oil.

 How to:

  • I had 2 red potatoes, washed them and start the party! Grate the potatoes. Be careful with your fingers because I was not. I’m a potato.
  • After that have your finely chopped potatoes in a bowl with cold water. Leave them there for 20-30 minutes so all the starch drown in it’s own juice. Heh, phunny, right?
  • Meanwhile prepare 2-3 big fresh mushrooms and yes, grate them or finally chop them. Put your mushrooms aside in a big bowl.
  • I added one chopped sweet bell pepper in the mushrooms bowl.
  • Now it is time for Seasoning Orchestra (Antonio Vivaldi – The Four Season, op 8, “Spring”: Allegro) I have 2 teaspoons of garlic powder, 2 teaspoons of onion powder, 1 teaspoon of black pepper, 1 teaspoon of sweet paprika and cayenne pepper, oregano and thyme together 1 teaspoon, 2 spoons of hemp powder, salt. Mix.
  • Now, I have a delightful smell that it is ready to receive some shredded potatoes.
  • Before I added shredded potatoes, I made sure I discharged with a kitchen towel all the water.
  • Add shredded potatoes in the symphony bowl and mix.
  • Ok, I have a great texture but it is unravelling. What to do? Remember my 2ShotsBurger post where I wrote about gluey flax seeds? It is the same process.
  • I added my sticky flax seeds, I mixed everything together and I placed my mixture on a baking paper sheet.
  • Yes, I had my oven preheated to 200 degrees celsius (or 400 F.Celsius).
  • No oil, exactly.
  • I baked it for 30-35 minutes until crunchy and light brown. It will be sticky.
  • Serve it with any sauce/dip you desire. It works with ketchup, vegan cheese spread, mustard, horseradish, salsa, guacamole.
  • Bon appetite!

IMG_3557

IMG_3563

IMG_3550IMG_3551

IMG_3560

Leave a Reply

