Panem Et Circenses

Ah, bread! What do we do without it? Why do we love it? Why are we so mesmerized by it’s smell, texture, visual aspect?

Those memories from our childhood where our mother, grandmother, aunt, father, grandfather was preparing The Dough for dinner. That dough was made by two ingredients: flour and water. Yes, bread is a balance between flour and water, a dance, a mantle of mother nature fungus and powder grain. This equilibrium between two powerful earth ingredients assemble what we love with every meal we can think about: Bread.

How is it possible? Our flour, water and air together make this perfect ambiance for dough to rise. The mixture of flour and water houses an ecosystem of beneficial bacteria and yeasts. Yeast is everywhere you can imagine: the bag of flour, on the surface of vegetables, in the AIR!

If we want to know more about micro-organisms… well I can say that these little organisms are everywhere! Yap, they provide all that bacteria to break down that organism when it dies. In our case, the mixture of water and flour. How Cool!

Back to reality, we want bread, we love it, nowadays it’s easier to buy bread from the store and take it home. Yeah if you want to get your stomach full of sugar, oil and package yeast wich is a no no for me.

How do we make dough if we want a clean bread at home?

This is my way, i’m not a Breadfectionist, I am still learning how to deal with my dough but this is a start! Let’s get into it!

  • 2:1 ratio of flour and water (2 cups of flour one cup of water) I used whole grain flour
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 spoons of flax seeds – I will talk about them in another series
  • 1 spoon of pumpkin seeds
  • 1 spoon of sunflower seeds
  • patience

IMG_3189

I mixed the dry ingredients together then slowly but surely I added water – oh, cold water. It’s important to add water in drizzle style (makes me think of Opagana star for some silly reason) so you incorporate all that flour with water.

I let it aside for 2-3-4 hours covered with a plastic paper and a towel on the counter. It won’t hurt to leave it away for a day, then feed it, let it another day and feed it again so you can have that living bacteria ready to go! That perfect dough. This is what I am supposed to do, but because I’m afraid of my own failure, I said let’s try with couple of hours and then ride our horses to the expert level later. Life is experience, don’t be afraid (like me) and experiment with food ( I am still a beginner).

After 2-3-4 hours see how your dough look like. Well, mine didn’t look like a glamour dough (This is why I didn’t take a photo of it) but it was ready to go!

Grab a hand of flour and sprinkle on the counter, put your dough there, roll it, roll it! But gentle, and then cut it in half or quarters. I had mine in quarters and It got me… yes… 4 mini baguettes! Well, at least there were 4, I wanted to have one cut in half for photos which I did, until I realized that more than half of that baguette was in my mouth… this is why there are only 3 and 2 sad pieces in photos left.

Moving right along,

Put them baguettes in the oven (a trick I have learned since I started reading about bread is to have steam in your oven ~ if anybody can show me an oven that shoots steam please let me know ~  therefore I put an oven casserole with water on the bottom of the oven) give them 30-35 minutes lowering your temperature every 5 minutes because you don’t want to have a hard crust and a wet inside bread.

After 35 minutes take them out and let them rest for 5-10 minutes with a towel over.

And finally! Look at them! Crunchy crust, dense inside but not crazy and Delicious!

IMG_3540

IMG_3536IMG_3538

I served it with home made Hummus and I wish I had more.

Have Fun!

Make it in your own way!

Leave a Reply

